Polls open from 9:30 a.m. to 9:30 p.m.


DISTRICT (Staff) – Monday, October 19 is election day across Canada.

There are two federal ridings in The Temiskaming Speaker’s circulation area.



One of them is the riding of Nipissing-Timiskaming.

The riding of Nipissing-Timiskaming stretches from the former Dymond Township and the southern boundaries of the townships of Harris, and Hudson and extends to just north of Huntsville.

The candidates on the ballot are: Conservative incumbent Jay Aspin, New Democratic Kathleen Jodouin, Green Party candidate Nicole Peltier and Liberal Anthony Rota.


Timmins – James Bay

The other federal riding in The Speaker’s circulation area is the riding of Timmins – James Bay stretching from the northern boundary of the former Dymond Township and Harris and Hudson Township all the way north to Hudson Bay.

The City of Timmins is the riding’s most populous community.

The candidates on the ballot in this riding are: incumbent New Democrat Charlie Angus, Conservative John P. Curley, Green candidate Max Kennedy and Liberal Todd Lever.



Polls open from 9:30 a.m. to 9:30 p.m.


All Canadian citizens 18 years of age or older are eligible to vote.

Voters can register on polling day with identification and proof of address.


While the print edition of the October 21 Speaker will have detailed results and commentary, on election night the final vote tally will be posted as soon as the outcome is determined.

VOTING DAY was last modified: October 18th, 2015 by Editorial Staff